Handsome

I got these bantams to keep Bonny company when the other hens had been killed by a dog, but they didn't like each other at all.  She ended up hiding in the nest box, not eating and looking terrified, which is why she is now living in the back garden!

These are Old Dutch bantams, really handsome and lovely birds to look at and watch, but as I keep them down the road where I have my veg patch, I only see them twice a day so it's rather a shame.  They are also more a show bird than an egg layer.  They also haven't laid a single egg in the months I have had them, although they were laying when I got them. Basically I would like some attractive, interesting looking hens which also lay eggs!

Today I wrote to the chap I got them off to see if he would like them back, or if I should sell them.  Time to get some laying hens again . . .  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.