Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Yellow Bird in Snow

So yes, we had a tiny bit of snow this morning. It snowed quite a lot, but it didn't stick to the roads, or to anything the slightest bit warm. And then in the early afternoon the sun even tried to come out and every bit of the snow melted.

This American goldfinch is clearly a male - and a male who is really pushing the Spring breeding plumage thing. None of his peers are even close to this yellow yet. I have no idea what's going on with this guy, but whatever it is, I like it. I was all set to definitely have him be my Blip until I caught sight of a female pileated woodpecker out back this afternoon. Then I was in a quandary. But in the end, Mr. Goldfinch won. By the way, I think the quince buds/blossoms reliably get snowed on every year... often in April! So we're probably not done with that yet.

Meanwhile - I'll try to put two pics of the woodpecker up as extras. Two because first just a straight shot of the lovely lady, and second a shot of her twisting her head nearly all the way off to jam her beak into a crack. A crack in which there must have been something really tasty to cause such contortions!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.