The World Spinning...

The brilliant sun of yesterday was gone and we were back to very mixed weather, with the promise of sun after lunch.  However, our spirits were still good and we were out early in the day, up for the challenges of weather and snow.
About 11 o'clock we were skiing our favourite slope, down to the Roxy Bar and some strange combination of snow conditions, speed and light meant we both totally lost our orientation. We skidded to a halt without any problems and both commented what a strange experience it was.  Two minutes later we were in the armchairs of the Roxy Bar, drinking hot chocolate. There's plenty to look at on the walls!
Then the day turned strange! When I stood up the world was unstable. I wobbled a little as I walked through the bar, and as I came outside the whole world spun and I had to grab a table to stay upright. "What was happening??!! - Could I ski?"
Supported by my ski poles I could put my skis on and I set off down towards the town. Weirdly everything was more-or-less normal as I skied, but as soon as I stopped the world wavered around unsteadily. I decided to try another run and got back on the lift and up away from the town again. At the top of the system I started down but I was feeling worse all the time. I skied slowly down to the top of the cable car and took that down the mountain. Björn skied down, met me, and made sure I made it back to the hotel room. Once there I fell onto the bed in my sweaty underwear and slept immediately. After a half-hour I woke up, took off my damp clothes and crawled properly into bed and slept for three more hours. Thankfully, when I awoke again I was shaky but almost back to normal.
I got dressed and wandered around the town and hotel a little and that evening I took it easy with both food and drink and the next day I was completely recovered! A very strange experience!
(A backblip posted on 12 March)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.