Between Drops

Had my eyes dilated this morning for a routine exam. It's all fine, but dilation really takes a toll on me, sometimes for a couple days. This time I was careful to stay inside and wear my darkest glasses for a long time. And I tried my very best to avoid the computer, not read, not drive or knit or draw or garden. What's left? Amazing how antsy I got. But I think it paid off: I didn't get nauseous or terribly disoriented and I stayed cozy by the fire for most of the rainy day.

Mr S bundled up in the evening and went outside in the storm to barbecue our lamb chops. "Cleanp-up is easier," he said, "Plus it tastes better."  No argument on either point. I don't have a picture of him standing out there in his raincoat because I was safely inside, in charge of the creamed spinach. I think this is the first time we've ever had enough of it from the garden to make a side dish. An excellent meal, one of our favorites.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.