S_Dee

By S_Dee

Snow in Edinburgh

Ok. What a day. It started with some snow which actually stayed on the ground. Didn't think much. Almost every train was cancelled. Apart from the one I usually take.

Went to work by train and the walking. Usually 30 mins. It took me 40 mins. Arrived at work - you can call me Olaf the snowman.

Around 1 pm my boss said there is a red weather warning. (Never heard of this before). Well I am Swiss how should i supposed to know this. It's just a wee bit snowy out there? At 2pm we closed our office (never happened before!).

All trains were cancelled from 1pm on. So no way for me to go home. My boss was driving though so he gave me a lift home. The M8 was clear, slow, snowy ground but clear. Eveything else was absolutely blocked. G and I were hungry. Thankfully i had 2 bread with me. They were from A. She always bribgs us bread. Do. and I love it. Do. wasn't at work as she lives away from the civilisation and they don't clear the road there. So i took hers home as well. We ate one.

Basically, two hours and a loaf of bread later we finally reached home.

Edinburgh was white! Never seen Edinburgh white like this before. Amazing! Looks a bit ghosty though.

In the evening i had this meeting with the Swiss Ambassador. So D and I decided to go out for dinner. We went to the Olive Branch. Super tasty and super service. There as a guy outside the restaurant trying to get out of his parking space but couldn't so i went outside and pushed him. Whilst pushing him another guy came to help me. Together we pushed that man's car out of the parking space. Successfully.

After dinner I walked to the meeting point. P an Se were already waiting. But the Ambassador nowhere to be seen. He eventually called and informed us the driver of the train vanished and he is stuck half way up to Edinburgh in New Castle (he came from London). So there as only one thing left for me to do. Take the bus and go home. Bus. What bus? No busses running! (Apart from the Airlink which didn't even go close to my home!). And it was snowing. Still snowing. So again, I walked home. 50 mins and (call me) a piece of ice later I finally arrived back home.

Hot water bottle and bed for me.

What a day!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.