Englishman in the Balkans

By BalkansDavid

Borders

I am writing this as I bounce around in a small passenger van on the motorway towards Zagreb.

It's never advisable to write about politics, especially when the subject is topical.

The engagement from the internet (the web) is seldom anything but opinionated and hostile.

But today's image is taken on the Croatian side of the border with Bosnia and Herzegovina, at Gradiška.

I am on my way to Zagreb, then by plane further onwards to Skopje, Macedonia.

I take the bus when travelling on my own. Less stress (well it should be), less responsibility. I am getting on now in age, so have had more of my fair share of the "R" word.

Crossing borders in the Western Balkans are tedious, totally impersonal affairs. 

Questions, searches, being messed about, all in the name of national security.

OK. I get that it might stem illegal immigration.

I say might.

I digress.

Today, again, it was de-bus, queue up while passports were checked and stamped. Then bag searches. Questions asked by clearly bored and irritated officers. 

A fast (20 minute) crossing. Today.

You really don't want to know how many hours during the "season".

It actually reminds me of the Europe of the early 1970's. Waiting hours to clear into France. The 3 hour queues behind haulage trucks on the motorway leading into Germany.

With all the High Tech tools available to "control" people movement, it astounds me how "Luddite", especially "first world" country's government's are.

Come to think of it, Bosnia and Herzegovina, who are still regarded as a post conflict transitional country, seem to fair better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.