Beneath Biscay

By Douglian

Soul Bread

Two and a half months on a low carb diet for health reasons. During that time I've eaten almost no bread, rice, pasta, pastry or potatoes and almost no alcohol.
 
So this was more or less my first 'bread'. A bit of liver paté on toast topped with cherry tomatoes with herb-salt milled on top.

Nothing particularly special, except that it's not bread exactly. It's called Soul Bread and it contains no flour and almost no carbohydrates. It's calories come from protein and fat, provided by whey power, eggs, cream cheese, butter and olive oil.

I made it folowing a recipe on 'Low Carb Yum' here, after watching an amusing video here from 'Highfalutin' Low Carb'. The video compares three different low carb bread alternatives, of which soul bread came out tops. It then took me a while to gather the ingredients, some of which I had to order from Amazon.

I doin't think I've really baked anything much before, be it a sponge or bread, so it was with some tredipation that I decided to give it a go.

Sunday was baking day and all went more or less to plan. Not quite perfect though, because the 'loaf' didn't brown in top and sank a bit when it came out of the oven. Nevertheless it seemed to have risen OK and was properly cooked (see extra).

As for the taste, well I found it a bit unusual although not unpleasant. I tried it with a bit of marmite on top which was OK. Today I bought some pate to try with it, which I did when I got home from work. A thin slice of soul bread in the toaster, then spread with a little paté plus the tomatoes and salt and ... absolutely delicious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.