Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Shaggy

This solitary Shaggy Inkcap or Lawyer's Wig, Coprinus comatus stood out brilliant white against the gravel. He was for me!!

I screeched to a halt carefully pulled over (there's negligible traffic up on Battledown as it's a private estate) and rolled out onto the verge into the entrance of a driveway. Privately too I was hoping that no-one would come by with me lying on the floor with a camera looking dodgy!

Yes it's a common mushroom, (so common it featured on an Australian stamp in 1981) but I think with it's hanging scale-like sections it looks quite impressive. About six inches tall with white gills that go pink then black with age, it is very delicate - especially because of the hollow stalk.

The word for today is - 'deliquescent', which means it has an affinity for water and will absorb it from the atmosphere forming liquid solution. Hours after picking it will turn black and dissolve itself. Hence the name 'ink'. Consequently although edible with a mild taste it has to be eaten pronto!

Thankfully without being accosted I did a quick getaway!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.