At the sign of the glove rampant

My sister commented that I seemed to spend a lot of time "complaining" about the Finnish weather. The implication was that I shouldn't, because after all I chose to come here. Indeed, I do discuss the weather, but I largely don't see it as complaining, except when it's really grey for weeks on end, which has managed to get me down a bit. But generally, I'm keen to observe the weather and see how it changes.

There have certainly been changes aplenty over the last week or so. It was grey, and a bit wet and a bit snowy over the weekend, and around zero degrees, most of the time. It got wetter and warmer on Monday and Tuesday, and I got rather wet feet yesterday evening walking back across the car park. But the temperature went down towards the end of the night, and has been continuing to fall during the day today, and will be around -8 by the morning. This makes for skating rinks where previously there was melted snow. And it meant that this lost glove, which I found on a bench in a nearby park, had obviously got sodden yesterday but was now frozen solid. This made it possible for me to wedge it into the slats of the bench and photograph it in a "rampant" position.

And lest you thought I'd neglected the 10th floor view, I've added a nice extra.

A busy day running around largely getting ready for a departure tomorrow, but catching up on a pile of domestic things. And unfortunately failing to finish a paper which is a trifle overdue. Early start tomorrow, so early to bed now. I hope I can sleep. The noisy buggers overhead were making a racket earlier on, so I hope that they don't come back in the middle of the night like they did on Sunday night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.