tomhutts

By tomhutts

Beginnings

Today was my first day at university. While classes don’t start for another ten days or so, we had our welcoming days. This consisted of all the international students meeting and greeting, and being shown around the campus.
It was a long, long day.
At the end, there was an afterparty with beer and BBQ. The Germans love their meat, there was a great selection.
I was chatting to two guys from the Netherlands for most of the night. One of them is Claire’s flatmate, and the other is a friend of his. We got on well, and after Julia departed we stuck about uni a bit longer (until we were told to leave and given all the spare beer). So Claire, the two Dutch guys, and I were on the street not sure what to do next. I suggested Fitchers Vogel, the cool pub I had been to the day before. We got there and everyone enjoyed it. Claire and one of the Dutch guys played fusball against two Germans (the table is what photographed. The lighting reminds me of a dramatic Caravaggio painting). They were thrashed. We decided to take it easy, knowing we had a pub crawl tomorrow and saved ourselves for that.
I went home, through my smelly smoke fumed clothes into the wash and dived into bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.