Indifference

During a busy day at work the Head of School called in to say that my promotion to Reader had been approved. It's only the second promotion I've had in 28 years, and it was something of a formality since they've started recognising non-research contributions, so I greeted the news with complete indifference. There are plenty of other things in my life which make me feel good about myself, and there is no change in salary. Perhaps the best thing to learn was that people I respect wrote strong letters of reference for me.

The evening saw me attend a celebration dinner for the viva of two weeks ago which had to be postponed because of the snow. An odd occasion: eating in a Malaysian restaurant with three Ecuadorians and a Spaniard!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.