My life

By pops

Is it really progress?

I’m not sure!
We live in a disposable society, I’ve been married 35 years this year and in that time have gone through numerous irons, kettles and other small appliances. If it breaks you throw it away and replace it. I remember at home having the same iron for years it had new flexes on a regular basis and the only way to get steam was using a wet cotton cloth (usually one of dads cotton hankies!) but only when it was completely beyond repair was it replaced. Same with the kettle- not electric but a solid kettle that sat on the hob, not to be replaced until it had boiled dry so many times we’d burnt a hole in the bottom.
Today I had to replace my steam iron, so went for this ‘beast’ it holds 1.2litres of water in its tank so you can do ‘non-stop’ ironing, it fires steam more powerful than the flying Scotsman, and it has a non-stick scratchproof ceramic base. All that’s missing is someone to do the ironing for me.


(Alright the bit about the flying Scotsman might have been an exaggeration)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.