PlanW

By PlanW

Empty Bed Blues

Today was easier than I thought it might be.  Pre-operative assessment to make sure I'm fit enough to survive the anaesthetic next week.  I had a session with a nurse who started off slightly gruff but we found common ground and soon became much warmer and she hugged me on the way out.   I didn't have to have a blood test because I had one last week and the results were visible on the system.  

Then I headed off to the Breast Unit, I met my lovely nurse, Stacey who told me everyone I needed to meet.  She'd arranged for me to be ultrasounded again as I'd had some concerns that my alien was growing and trying to escape John Hurt style.  Turns out my brain was playing tricks on me and it's the same as a month ago.  Phew. 

Next step, Physio nurse.  Worryingly, I spotted straight away (world class reading upside down skills, honed over many years of eyeballing people's notes in meetings) that she had my 'wound' on the wrong side and my surgery date on the wrong day. FFS. 

Next stop, Lymphodoema nurse, got measured on a Heath Robinson machine, given the to do's and not to do's.  It seems it all very much stick your finger in the air, see which way it's blowing and do nothing as they do not know what causes it, how to avoid it and what to do with it.   Then she showed me the door, told me the way out of the building and said good luck.  I set off on auto pilot and then received a call when I got home from my nurse.  'Where are you? we can't find you in the department'.  Err, that'll be because I'm at home.  It turned out I had more meetings, one with the consultant to discuss and sign the consent form.  What a Wally!! 

Anyway, when I got in to it, I slept like a baby in my new bedroom.   Cosy eh?  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.