But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Iced Rose.

It was an interesting project for the on-line camera club this month if, for no other reason, because several members were upset at killing flowers. Objections were also raised to stunting the growth of the poor little trees used for bonsai. I did try pointing out that all living things, including ourselves, have their development restricted by various agencies – but my words fell on stony ground. Personally, I’m very fond of hawthorn bushes which, in some wild environments, can be found growing into the most tortured shapes due to environmental restrictions.
 
Another interesting aspect was of the devious methods used in an attempt to produce a photogenic lump of ice. Distilled water seemed to be a favourite but, while it is cooling, its ability to dissolve air seems to be heightened so it then needs to be frozen to take the gas out of solution, then thawed to release the bubbles and, finally, refrozen with the subject contained within it.
 
As someone who has been known to spend many hours trying to cast the perfect one pound block of beeswax for competition, I once lost a trophy because, although mine was the better casting, it took two attempts and the resultant slight darkening of my wax lost more marks than the casting flaws in my opponent’s block. I am, therefore, aware that the more slowly the wax/water solidifies, the better the casting. Other club members realised this too, But, then again, as I mentioned in the discussion thread, if you achieve perfection – you might just as well have photographed a flower arrangement in air. This isn’t an art form to which I aspire; it’s just too unpredictable; I can only take so much serendipity.
 
Any road up, I assume that, in the absence of information to the contrary, BikerBear is hosting Flower Friday – so thanks Anni, where ever you are today. Keep up the good work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.