School marathon

Inge had a school marathon today, in which the children went to school from eight in the morning until midnight. I helped out by giving a series of bristlebot workshops. All 24 children now have a working bristlebot and each of them had fun making them. A huge success. And Inge managed to hold on until midnight but then she completely crashed. Can’t blame her...

In the afternoon, Inge’s teacher asked me if I could make some photos taken from high and straight down. That was a tall order, but I made it work by attaching my tripod ball head to the hook of a stage spotlight and then hanging it to the stage light rail. I installed the Canon EOS utility on my laptop and attached the camera with a usb cable. I could then control the camera from my laptop. I added a remote control for my speedlite so we could use flashlight from different directions. It was a couple of hours of work creating the rig and setting everything up but I am pleased with how well it worked.

So yes, that’s a Canon EOS 5d mark II with a 24-70 L lens hanging from the ceiling. We did secure it by attaching the shoulder strap to the rail as well but I must say I was relieved to have everything back in my hands in one piece after the shoot...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.