a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Matt

Bristol's Jazz and Blues Festival: Matt Schofield

It has been a very enjoyable day.  My friend Mark has come to stay, having travelled down to Bristol from Cheshire.  We've spent the day playing blues guitar and wishing we lived closer to each other.  This evening saw us wander into Bristol where we've explored some great pubs and taken in the Bristol Jazz and Blues Festival.  

For the pair of us, the focus was very much this man - Matt Schofield.  One of the most able blues guitarists Britain has ever produced. Sadly he is based in the USA nowadays so we get to see him only  rarely.   He was playing with Bristol's Jonny Henderson on Hammond B3 and Evan Jenkins on drums. In this small boutique area of the musical world, it is hard to think of better supporting musicians than these two.

In some ways I wish that I had taken my Nikon, but it would have been a nuisance in the earlier (pub based) part of the night.  As it is, I am really rather pleased that I managed to get some decent shots of Matt.  I rather sneakily eased my way to the front of the audience for this and I am not sure that everyone appreciated my photographic ambitions.  I suspect that if I had taken the Nikon, rather than the little Fuji, they might have been more accommodating...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.