dailykeith

By dailykeith

Capa

I always like to get a photography fix when I am on my travels, so it was good to have the opportunity to see 'Robert Capa in Colour' at the Caixa Forum in Seville.

Capa was famous for his black and white work. These colour images were much rarer, although a lot had been used in magazines, many of which were displayed in the exhibition, along with letters and telegrams.

It was an excellent show, although I have mixed feelings about Capa. Some of his work here was brilliant, but a disconcertingly large amount was very ordinary. It was interesting to read several times that commissioning editors were unhappy with his work, and his later Japanese photos were described as 'no better than travel snaps'. But my biggest problem with Capa is his 'fallen soldier' photo - probably his most famous picture. I won't go into the fine detail here, suffice to to say it is said to show the moment a soldier is shot dead in the Spanish Civil War.

I am on the side of the experts who say the photo was staged, so it was uncomfortable to hear an interview with Capa talking about how he took it in the heat of battle.

I'd love to talk to my old university tutors about Capa. Magnum felt he was talented enough to be one of their team but I can't help feeling that there is an element of the emeperor's new clothes about him.

If I had to choose between Capa's body of work and the haunting images of war by Don McCullin (and McCullin's other work) I wouldn't have any difficulty making up my mind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.