Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Autumn at Friday Street

A very quick blip again tonight as I'm on the run again.

I took this at Friday Street at Wotton this afternoon. The dogs needed a run despite my chaotic timetable. This is one of my favourite woods. It an SSSI for some very rare moths that live in this unique Oak and Bilberry habitat. The old oak grow very slowly and their trunks bend like cork screws as their heads turn to catch the sunlight.

The wood was invaded by the tree felling mob, including their hateful heavy machinery, a couple of years ago.. The whole operation went ahead, despite local objections, but under the scrutiny of English Nature. Although they've thinned out the wood quite drastically the wounds are healing quickly. The shame is that now the canopy has been opened it is already obvious that the bracken is taking hold and starting to smother the Bilberries. I hope they have a plan to guard against the possible environmental impact the bracken causes.

Ekkks ... late for work! I'm off!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.