Lightbox

I've always wanted to get underneath one of those glass gratings you see on certain streets in Dublin. The tiniest pub in Dublin, The Dawson Lounge, used to have a great one in their toilet (about the size of an old phone-box), which was underneath the street. But they've covered it up now.

Having associated these gratings with an older Dublin, I was surprised to discover a few of them inside another, much trendier and more modern pub recently, where I met up with Slant, TP and Pat for a couple of drinks. Better still, the things were right there, under my feet at the bar, helpfully backlit from underneath. I imagine they were removed from outside an older building, to serve as fashion accessories. Or maybe they've just had a shitload of boozy wear and tear. They certainly look old enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.