Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

Morning haze

first morning at home
saturday at eight o'clock
familiar blue haze

What a feeling! as they sang in Flashdance. Arriving here, despite the cold temperature (it was 4 degrees in the house on Friday night :-D ) was such a great feeling. It reminded me of the first few times we came here on weekends, nine years ago. I don't think I can get tired of it now, realising we're here for good. Well, I'm not sure I've actually realised it yet. It will sink in gradually, I suppose.

You've seen this tree before - be prepared to see more of it as I love its shape, both in winter when we see its core and in summer when it's adorned with leaves.

I have worked well in the house to prepare it for the arrival of our furniture and books next Friday. I also bought a new cooker, as the one we have here is an all-gas one, and we're not familiar with a gas oven. Until now, we've used a small electric oven, but we can't do this in the long run. Hence the purchase of a brand new cooker: four gas burners and an electric oven. It doesn't take much to make a man happy, does it? ;-)

I'm backblipping (you can browse back two days), as we really don't get a good reception at home for the moment, even by sharing the connection on the phone - intermittent 3G/4G but with a very limited reach. Here at the café, there's very good wifi! It's even faster than the connection we had in the flat with our box. I hope the service we'll get here (it will have to be satellite, pending the installation of fibre in the neighbourhood... whenever!) will be good.

This concludes the first report "from the other side". :-)

Extra: Sherlock getting his bearings again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.