Happy Memories

Seeing lambs starting to appear about the place, brings back memories of my sheep.  I did love keeping them, especially at this time of the year.  I started off with a "caddy" lamb, an orphan you raise on a bottle, in my case on surplus goat's milk, as I kept goats too. 

This is her, named Caddy, originally enough, and one year she managed to produce quads. A pair one evening, and then another pair the next morning!  She made the local paper!  She didn't manage to raise them all, I bottle fed one and another went onto a ewe who only had a single.  In total, ewes and lambs, I think there were about twenty at one point, but it got too tricky combining working full time, etc etc and I very sadly had to sell them.  

Looking back I am amazed at the energy I had -  I can't remember the year, but I think it might be 1985, so that probably explains it! Youth!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.