My Dear Nan

So wonderful to see my dear Nan today. Her face lit up when Mum and I walked into her room in the care home. She loved my pink jacket and told me over and over again how pretty she thought it was. It’s funny but I knew she’d like it, Nan wore a lot of pink when she was younger.

I looked through Nan’s photograph albums and shared some memories with her. She seemed to recognise me when I showed her a photo of me as a child and she kept saying how alike Mum and I look with a puzzled look on her face not quite figuring it out. I told Nan that she used to call me ‘my ray of sunshine’ when I was really young, “That’s nice!” she said. Maybe it was because I was her first grandchild?

Alzheimer’s is such a rotten disease and it’s heartbreaking to see my Nan like this. But she’s being well looked after and was so happy to see us. As we left she told my Mum how she loved her very much.

I’m looking forward to visiting Nan again very soon and catching up with more of the family too. The pesky snow forecast in Kent put me under pressure to get back, a fruitless task in the end as I spent 7 hours on the road yesterday. Don’t ever travel on a Friday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.