Leiflife

By Leiflife

The Magic of Memory

For all of my years, Azaleas have been a magical backdrop for my living. Some years have been more magical than others, just as the azaleas have been more profuse and glorious some years than others. In my memory, every blooming of my very young childhood was glorious and magical. Each year they strengthened my dreams of my own blooming as a beautiful dancer bringing magic to the stages of the world. They told me blooming was not only possible but dependable. They also told me that when blooming was complete, and flowers dropped to the ground beneath the bush, these remnants could be gathered into a little girl's lap as she sat in the shelter of the sturdy branches. 

There was one azalea bush, much larger than the others that became a haven and a friend. I could believe myself transported as I threaded fallen blossoms into leis to drape upon my body. The leis were cool against my skin, their fragrance balm to soothe small girl distresses. When I stepped from beneath the dear old bush, I could walk tall and strong and purposeful as I carried the most beautiful lei to my precious mother. 

The house I lived in for most of my childhood was swept away by Hurricane Katrina. That large azalea growing close against the house's side was thought destroyed also for several years, yet as debris was cleared away and the ground healed slowly, slowly, the azalea resurrected into an even more magnificent version of itself. This year it has astonished many with the abundance of its blooming. And this woman with a camera sought to pay a little tribute to the bush and to the little girl the woman use to be. I found it nearly impossible to get a photograph that would include the whole azalea and do it justice, so I settled on one that imparts a magical feeling, even as backdrop to the dancing wisteria. An extra shows the sturdy branches and gives an idea of its size. I also include a shot of my little Lumen pulling on his leash and limiting my efforts with the camera. He loves his walks, but we have work to do. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.