Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Gran's birthday wishes

My mother's mother Adele, sent off my birthday card today. Not the first one since my mother died the previous year in June, but the memory of burying her daughter was still fresh. And she wrote the card less than two months after her great-granddaughter Kate had been born. She had to wait a little while before they met and Kate or Kathi as the Germans say could fill her with joy and hope.
 
She wrote something along the following lines:


My dear George
On the 1st September, I will in my thoughts, be with you and your loved ones.
For your birthday all my love and all the best and again, thank you for all your care.
Included a little token, 25DM (€12.50) and hope you can fulfil a small wish.
To my little, sweet Kathi a big kiss, I keep having to look at the photos, I’ll send them back soon as promised. (she had said she would, I kept telling her they were for her to keep).
Soon I will write again, I am still (15 months later) spiritually in England.
From Mama.
xxxxxxx
And also to the family, Robert, David & Lisa (David is purbeckdavid49)
 
Adele, although in this case referring specifically to the death of her daughter, always loved being in England. She couldn’t speak a word, understood a little but simply beamed from the moment she set a foot on English soil at Dover. Her favourite – honestly - TV programme was Dad’s Army.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.