I was surprised to see large icicles hanging from a sycamore tree along our lane as I have seen icicles on trees only where they have been constantly splashed by a great amount of water.  There were many icicles hanging, some of which were almost 30 centimetres long.  They were all suspended from branches or twigs that had obviously been flailed when the hedge was cut three weeks ago. A lot can also be seen in the middle near the horizon.  I realise that it’s the sap rising and pouring out of the recent open wounds.  Just as the sugar maple Acer saccharum, and black maple, Acer nigrum, were traditionally tapped in North America by the first native people and subsequently by the European colonists, the sycamore Acer pseudoplatanus can produce quite a lot of sap in spring.
Later I walked past and could hear a faint rushing sound and seeing drips coming out fairly quickly I realised that the sap was making the noise.  By now the icicles had dropped off as the rapid thaw began.  If it wasn’t in a place where many dog walkers pass I’d be tempted to collect some and use it like maple syrup.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.