Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

Plants, Gossiping

Whenever I lose my sense of direction or purpose, I read some of the best fiction ever written: Italo Calvino's The Baron in the Trees. It's the story about a boy who chose to look at the world from a higher ground and the price he paid for it. 
I have read this book whenever I needed solace and encouragement. It is beautifully written, sad at times, but always deeply human. And it heals. The pain in my back is almost gone now.
My perception is changing, and I think it's quite evident in my photography. Changes on a deeper level take time and are difficult for me, as I'm not a very patient person. The Baron in the Trees slows me down. Life is beautiful because it is constant change.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.