the edges of my life

By raej

Next time kick me ......

What on earth made me think a 3 hour train journey thru central Vietnam would be fun? I've done this before up north and it was not even remotely fun then either. (although that time we did have a stampede) ...... This time I had to drag my cane and bod and small wheelie case up the tracks to the carriage, haul up steep steps while people shoved from behind and deal with the man opposite me propping his smelly socked feet up next to my legs. At least the air con worked sporadically and the sun and motion of the train put us all into a semi coma for most of the trip........
And I did enjoy watching the play of light on this man as he watched the ocean go by.
So am now in the ancient city of Hue after a couple of chaotic and surreal days with my Vietnamese family in Da Nang - which I'll have to back blip about as its something I want to remember. But for now am enjoying the semi luxury hotel room I earned by saving on the train ticket :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.