Souvenir de la Malmaison

Dear Bippers
My apologies for going AWOL so abruptly.
Those of you who follow my journal will know that the tail end of ex-Cyclone Gita dumped heaps of pine logs, sand and forestry debris here on the farm last month and turned the quiet little creek into a braided river. Unbeknown to me, a nasty little bacteria, Leptospira, thrives in post flood conditions when water gets contaminated with animal (most likely rat) urine and  I ingested it through a cut or scratch and became quite ill with Leptospirosis.  It's rarely fatal but very debilitating.  Treatment is with antibiotics and my lovely sister is looking after me and the animals and birds for the next few weeks.   Neighbours and friends are rallying around and I can't help but get better with all the kindness and help.
I don't know when I will be able to resume blipping but it won't be for a while.  In the meantime, I wish you well and I will continue to enjoy looking at your lovely photos,
Bunty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.