GOLD RUSH

Looking up (as Blippers do) I saw this on my way to the shops. I was on a gold quest because yesterday I went to the corner shop for some emergency replacement marmalade only to find that the main ingredient listed on every jar I looked at was "glucose/fructose syrup" - i.e. high fructose corn syrup. When did that sneak into marmalade? So off to Morrisons to do some research and find that most of the marmalades are the same. Exceptions are Morrisons Signature marmalades, Duerr's Fairtrade and Mackay's (all HFCS-free) in the mid-price, and Tiptree at the top of the range. Even Frank Cooper's have HFCS. I know a lot of you will make your own (as should I), and many won't care, but for those who do care and didn't know and to whom proper marmalade is one of life's ornaments, I offer my research as a public service. ;-)

...

big

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.