Town Owl

Nice short walk at Lodge Farm in the sunshine this morning with my daughter and granddog. They'd never been there before and loved it. We saw and heard skylarks and Kes put in an appearance.

I walked along the Stort Navigation towpath looking for the field where the man I met yesterday had seen the barn owl. I spoke to a woman who lives on a canal boat and she had seen it last week in the field between her mooring and the town station. I climbed a hillock between a waterside public house and the platform and waited, feeling rather conspicuous as I was in full view of those drinking in the pub garden. 

Five o'clock came and went. I didn't give up but walked down and into the next field. Then it glided into view. It flew away from me towards the canal, skimmed over a pair of Canada geese on the towpath and away over the pub. My shots are not great but I'm so pleased that my positive thinking paid off.

As I walked back I saw the man approaching who had told me about the owl. He was with his two choc Labs and a woman with a young child in a pushchair. I greeted him and thanked him for telling me about the owl. She didn't look too happy. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.