Nighthawk

By Nighthawk

Midland Road

Today was the monthly Probus meeting.. A retired teacher gave a talk about memory and are we losing it.. He was a very funny guy giving many examples of why - when we get older - we think we are suffering from memory loss. Sad to say - for many - it is true and a proven fact.. For the more fortunate we think we are losing the plot when in fact all we are doing is spending more time worrying about things we can't remember. He gave an example about remembering names.

Sir Benjamin Britton was shopping in Harrods when a very well dressed lady approached him. It was very obvious that she knew him and the face seemed very familiar to him. Not being able to recall her name he decided to brave it out and shook the lady's hand. Beaming back he said it was a tremendous pleasure to see her again.. He noticed that the lady was wearing a wedding ring. So ventured ' is your husband still in the same job ?' The lady replied without batting an eylid saying ' yes he's still King !!'

After the meeting I volunteered to deliver a copy of our Newsletter to a guy who could not make the meeting and lived fairly near to me. I dropped off the newsletter and after a brief chat thought I'd travel locally for a little inspiration.
I have taken to trying to keep a camera with me when out and about. I didn't have to drive far when I came across this lane.. There are those who may know, or may not, know where this lane is.. Feel like having a guess where Midland Road is ??
I have the feeling now that this was a trip down memory lane for me !! No pun intended !! ( Well maybe !!) A clue would be cross-country running as a lad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.