stujphoto

By stujphoto

Edinburgh by Night - Looking up the Mound

This will be the final image of my occasional series of shots of Edinburgh by Night for this session. I say session because I tend to take these shots prior to going to the Wednesday lecture at Edinburgh Photographic Society and the session runs from September through to the following April. The lights are getting lighter and this is the final chance I will have this session to catch the early evening light. which gives the lovely dark blue skies.

I have taken a number of evening shots looking down the Mound previously and I thought it might be a good idea to face the opposite direction. As I was only going to have a few minutes to take the shot before hurrying off to the society I though I would do a recce earlier in the afternoon.  When I was framing up the shots  I realised that it actually contains a wealth of Edinburgh's iconic buildings - the Royal Scottish Academy and the National Gallery in the foreground and New College Assembly Hall, the Camera Obscura, Ramsay Gardens and St. Columbas Church in the background. 

I only managed to shoot half a dozen shots and on reviewing therm I wish  had been able to manage one shot without the presence of buses as they tended to obscure the foreground, though given the number of buses passing through this auction this might be a big ask.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.