You scratch my back and I'll scratch yours.

Great day today, about 140 miles on the bike to Birmingham and back. Went up a 'No Motorway' route with the satnav, past Evesham, Stratford on Avon and Redditch on to a care home on Jockey Road, Sutton Coldfield.
There were 6 of us RBL Riders (see extra) and we all split up and sat with the care home residents most of which were ex military of one sort or another.
I sat with Noel and Marilyn, Noel had served 2 years National Service with the Royal Military Police and he had some funny, and some amazing, stories to tell about his posting to Vienna after WW2.

We finished there about 12:30 and I went to the Donkey Sanctuary in Sutton Park.
A lovely bloke called Mike showed me around, told me all about the donkeys, the various ways they've come into the sanctuary, how they are looked after etc. We talked a lot about aircraft too, his father was aircrew during the war on Stirling bombers. When I was leaving he came out to see me off and when he looked at the bike he said 'Oh, you've got audio too'. I switched the music on and flicked through Genesis, Yes, Jethro Tull, ELO, he was amazed, all the bands he loves :-)
It was great to see Oscar, Moses and the rest of the donkey gang.
Extra of Oscar too, he'd been rolling in the sand, naughty boy! I even managed to give him a scratch of the head, what a lovely, gentle, animal.
https://www.thedonkeysanctuary.org.uk/visit-us/birmingham

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.