Bursting My Boiler

We suffered a rude awakening early this morning by what I assumed was a very temporary power failure: for some reason, the phone was beeping, the radio alarm went of early and the boiler display was flashing.

In my drowsy state, I assumed the water pressure was low so topped it up a bit and all seemed fine; the heating was working and I had plenty of hot water for my shower.

I got back from golf at midday to find water pumping out of the overflow pipe across the flat roof, the boiler making a noise like a pneumatic drill and Tess at her wits end.

Fortunately, the family firm we use to service the boiler arrived not long after and sorted it out: some dipstick( what, me?) had left the top up taps on, sending the pressure of the boiler (and Tess) to bursting point. Equilibrium was rapidly restored all round and both boiler and Tess appear to be working normally now. Plumbing has been added to the list of DIY jobs with which I am not to be trusted.

To add insult to injury, the nice young plumber who rode to our rescue turned out to be the son of someone I used to teach, proving I am old as well as incompetent.

I had a very pleasant round of golf, by the way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.