Unwelcomed Visitors

Brown-headed Cowbirds are 'brood parasites'. They build no nest of their own and lay their eggs in the nests of other bird species. Females may lay one egg a day for 40 days or more, often removing the host birds' egg before depositing her own. Once the egg hatches the unsuspecting bird parents will feed the voracious chick which develops rapidly and leaves the nest usually after 10-11 days. This inconsiderate behavior by the Cowbirds has pushed some bird species to an 'endangered' status. Cowbirds are winter visitors here and I keep watch for them, chasing them away from our feeders. But now that I'm temporarily not able to physically do that, I figured getting a photo of this pair would have to suffice. I'm beginning Outpatient Physical Therapy today. My knee is healing quickly. Won't be too long before I'm able to get back to the DogPark and Sweetwater Wetlands Park. I miss them both! Do enjoy your Friday and a Great Weekend to all of you. 
Big, really big 'March For Our Lives' activities planned all over the world for tomorrow. Connie will be on the streets! I'm still trying to decide if I can/should join in. Maybe with my walker, for just a short distance. hmmmm...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.