Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

Grapes - and wrath.

I can't resist these beauties from India via Morrisons.  Seedless, crisp, chilled from the fridge, they crack and pop in your mouth with a burst of tangy sweet juice.  Mmmmm....

Perturbing...

I've just read that if I use Facebook to log into other apps - like Blip, then they can strip all the data from my Blip notes and use it to build a profile of me that they sell to other data researchers.  Now you may wonder why they'd find any of us interesting, well I did.  I made the usual "I've got nothing to hide" comments when MrsDB showed me the article, then I thought about it.  

From this Blip they know I shop at Morrisons, have a sweet tooth and no objections from goods imported from India.  They know I have a Sony camera and a Sony lens.  Looking back a bit further they will be able to tell that I go on holiday to Australia and the Far East.  They've probably worked out my income, my political leanings, my preferences in cars, clothes and TV programmes.  

Every time I hit a 'like' button on Facebook my interest is logged and my profile builds.  They say it's to improve my experience with is in reality a load of bo77ocks.  The only thing it's improving is their profits.

The recent revelation that some 50 million people’s data was harvested by Facebook and used to create psychological profiles to influence politics is worrying indeed.  And I bet they didn't give it away like we did.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.