Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Tough D

This red tube is my portable kidney.  It performs the duties that my kidneys can’t, namely cleaning the blood of dangerous toxins.  The tube that it’s in my neck and chest splits into two, one takes the dirty blood out and the other puts the clean blood back in.  As you can imagine they have to be extremely careful to ensure everything is sterilised.

As part of my kidneys failing, one of the potential outcomes might be that I stop peeing, which means that I start retaining water, so during dialysis they take excess fluid off as part of the process, today was a full litre.

Today was the toughest D session I’ve had.  I started reading but couldn’t concentrate.  I tried to sleep but was too restless.  I can only presume this extra fluid being taken off was part of the problem.  I’ve shed tears after I came home.  I’m absolutely shattered, an early night I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.