Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Kent's Hill

Today was a long day and only two photographs taken.
 
The day started with my alarm set for at 0545 hours in order to catch the first train out of the village. Then once in London it was on to the underground to Euston and then a Virgin train to Milton Keynes Central, then a taxi to the conference centre. Overall the journey took two hours; there are frequent trains to Milton Keynes.
 
The day was a busy one spent discussing the Open University and in particular the module that I tutor. These staff development days are also an excellent opportunity to catch up with other tutors.
 
I was in the first taxi to leave the conference centre and caught the fast train to Euston with thirty seconds to spare. However, the underground was busy, especially the escalators where people were blocking the stairway, so no opportunity to run up or down them as I generally do when going home. I missed my train at Tottenham Hale, by three minutes; they are one an hour on Saturday so an hour to wait. I did think about getting the fast train and then getting a taxi to my home, but decided that by the time I had waited for a taxi, I might as well wait in London for my proper train. The other problem that can arise by doing this is that the train fare changes between my station and the next one; if tickets are checked it would also incur an extra cost. So two hours to get to the centre and three to get home, so rather a long day with twelve hours away from home. Having said that these days are always brilliant and well worth the hassle of getting up early. Although I did miss the Cambridge and Oxford boat race as well as the Formula One Qualifying!

I took today’s picture as I was walking out of the centre, through a window and with my iPhone. It had rained for much of the day at Milton Keynes, but not at home so no opportunity to sit at these tables and chairs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.