si_b

By si_b

Timeline Events - Didcot Railway Centre

Sooo ... Having seen the excellent shots by Chris here earlier in the year, and being familiar with Didcot ( both from a commuter perspective & having been to the Railway Centre before ) - I booked myself and youngest child onto this Timeline Events trip.

850 odd shots filtered and edited later ... These are the ones that I'm happiest with. The only one that hasn't had significant work done in Photoshop is the one of the main blip, which is - more or less - straight out of camera. 

The others have all had a fair bit of noise reduction done, white-balance work etc. which has given them all a fairly consistent look and feel that I'm happy with. As I'm still in March - I've resisted the (incredibly huge) temptation to keep the noise but call it "grain" in a B&W conversion.

As an aside - I think that I've learnt a reasonably valuable lesson about "spray and pray" shooting ... I was nervous about the lighting & I tried hard to line up good shots, but still significantly over pressed the shutter button - the only places where it was beneficial was with the gentleman lighting the pipe - a few different curls of smoke and match-lights were worth having a choice from - but in pretty much every other situation I've just had to filter through 50 of pretty much the same shot ! More time spent on getting the settings and the focus right to start with probably would have been better spent than the equivalent time trying to get one shot out of 50 that was best ... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.