rower2012

By rower2012

Adelaide Airport Redevelopment


Today we visited the Adelaide Airport to meet a friend returning from overseas. I took my camera with me (as I always do), as I figured it may be an opportunity to get an interesting or at least slightly different blip. In particular the airport is going through an expansion redevelopment with its new multi-level car park and pedestrian plaza, now well under way.

It is a $100 million South Australian project that will take place throughout this year and next, with the wonderful new car park opened to the public in May this year. It has five levels to provide short-term parking for 2,000 public and car rental vehicles and is a huge improvement on the old and overcrowded parking area. See it here in Large.

I took this photo from the glassed in walkway of the pedestrian link bridge, looking towards the side of the new multi-level car park and pedestrian plaza. As you can see, the plaza is just starting construction. It will include facilities for rentals, taxis, buses, food and beverage outlets and small retail shops.

I took hundreds of photos of the bridge, people on the bridge, airline signs, people in the terminal and so on, but nothing really looked all that exciting, so in the end I went with this single architectural shot that I took from the bridge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.