Snake on the Beach...

I started the day by phoning my landlord to say that the lock on the security door was again broken. Apparently by the tenant of the flat below me.
I'd decided to go to B&Q to try to get a floor mop for my wooden floor so took some wonderful photographs on the way; but no floor mop. Amazon it will have to be. And the local shops wonder why we shop online. Not a single shop in Guernsey appears to have a mop for wooden floors!
I got back home and again phoned the landlord because a ladder which had been in our backyard was on the footpath on the main road. It turns out that the lad downstairs lost his keys so broke the security lock to get to the ladder to try to climb in through his window on Saturday night/Sunday morning. Shortly afterwards I thought the whole house was going to fall down; said tenant was slamming doors constantly and then the screaming started. He has a somewhat stormy relationship with his girlfriend! So phoned landlord again and asked whether he wanted to deal with it or the police. He said he'd already asked the police to come because of the criminal damage done on Sunday so would ask them to come immediately. And they did. An hour later they had both been evicted and the locks are being changed. In case you get the idea that I live in a low class slum area these are high spec flats. At least his will again be once it's been repaired! At least he's gone...
So then I went off to ring bells. Very few towers seem to ring in Holy Week for reasons best known to themselves because there is no liturgical reason not to ring. The silence is from the evening of Maundy Thursday unto Easter Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.