Englishman in the Balkans

By BalkansDavid

Coffee Break in the Balkans

Traditional Coffee here traces its roots back to the 580 years of occupation by the Ottoman Empire.

How to name it correctly is the issue for me.

If I call it Bosnian Coffee, I get critised that's it's Turkish. If I call it Turkish I get an equal amount of opposite criticism.

To be fair, on the menu cards in Restaurants and Coffee Bars, it does say "Domestic Coffee" (Domača Kafa).

But how do you explain the uniqueness of this coffee, how it's prepared, the culture behind it, to non Balkan people, by just saying domestic coffee?

This image is one way of serving coffee, together with dates, baklava and lokum.

If you're interested I made a video about making coffee (Balkan Style).

https://youtu.be/D1h-dHsXLzs

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.