Man, dog, snow

Statues of beasts stood with their backs to the four walls of the court, eyes turned to watch the canted dial: hulking barylambdas; arctothers, the monarchs of bears; glyptodons; smilodons with fangs like glaives. All were dusted now with snow. I looked for Triskele’s tracks, but he had not come here.

Owen starts on the painting, while I reinstall myself in the office. Its workability has deteriorated massively over the months I’ve been working at the kitchen table.

Nick arrives early afternoon. After a cuppa we take a walk on the hill, through the remains of the snow and the forest. The dog has a ball, twigs sticking to its pelt, jumping at snow.

A lone JCB is slowly working its way among the stumps, making mounds of soil for replanting.

I cook a massive feast of steak, chips, tomatoes, mushrooms and broccoli for tea. Nick has brought wine and beer. Inevitably, we graze the whiskies on the top shelf of the dresser.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.