Is Filigree Siberian Hamster!*

Milkshake loves to sit by the conservatory doors to watch the birds - and does so again at night, and given that very small bulbs have been disturbed in my pots  I thought she was looking out for a mouse. I discovered early yesterday morning when I was up particularly early, and once more she was looking out the door, that it was not a mouse but a very large brownish rat! We both watched it scurrying in and out of the pots, trying to climb the pole of the bird feeder, and then would you believe it,  came up onto the steps and peeped in at us! 
So today I decided to have a clear out where rats have nested before. I didn't find any new holes but I found a narrow, long, trough in the earth under the bench and then a shallow pit where there was lots of bird food! The rat had obviously made a larder there! Who knew rats made larders! Well, I raided it's larder and covered it over! This corner of my yard now looks much clearer, as of course lots of pots were moved, including a large spanish broom  standard. It will hopefully soon have lovely pineapple scented flowers,  I put next to my conservatory doors so I can sit on the steps and enjoy it! This involved moving the large arum Lilly and peony! It was a game of musical pots! 
All this plus two loads of washing took up the large part of my day! But what a satisfying day topped off with the hens bedtime and 3 fresh eggs for me! 

* The Siberian hamster is of course a reference to Fawlty Towers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.