Here and Now

By Mole

Life Can Be Rough

Suzie staggered into our yard one summer afternoon while I was gardening. We had never spoken before, although we lived nearby for many years. Sweet and curious one moment, then belligerent the next, Suzie was drawn to the back where she heard loud birdsong. She beamed with joy when she saw the birds, then fell hard in the grass. I helped her up over her protests. Eventually I walked her back to the front after numerous falls and mood swings. It took three of us to get her into a car, keep her in the car, and drive her home. Suzie returned two days later with this little bird she made, said “thank you” and walked away. Two weeks later she died of alcoholism.

We never know what troubles others suffer. RIP Suzie. RIP.

I hope someone is kind to you today.

Sorry so somber but it all came back when I blipped Suzie’s bird for Tiny Tuesday. Thanks Debbi dibfulco for hosting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.