Sinking Feeling?

Don’t think l’ve ever blipped the ladies room before but had to make an exception today.
Went into Leeds and before the last ballet class for this term l went to a former Gentlemen ‘s Club that is now a bar and restaurant in the city centre.
It’s a place that has always fascinated me, especially as a child but also as an adult because it always looked so grand and l’d heard it was magnificent inside.
Obviously as times have changed the club has had to cease and now l could finally go in and see it for myself.
To say it took my breath away is an underestimation and the lovely staff let me go around with my camera to my hearts content.
Lots of private dining rooms and amazing nooks and crannies but what is best of all is that many of the original Victorian features have been lovingly preserved.
The original gents in the basement is now the ladies and l’ve made it my blip.
So much brass, marble, gold leaf and ironwork all gleaming in the artificial light, it was gorgeous!
Anyone going to Leeds, seek it out, for the price of a coffee it is Blippers paradise!
Then after dance l met two friends l used to teach with, one who was once my student when she did her final teaching practice and is still a deputy head in Huddersfield but Barbara is retired like me.
We sat and ate and drank and talked for just short of four hours!
Home now and lm out again at the live showing in Ilkley cinema of the Bernstein Centenary, so looking forward to it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.