There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

All Sweet Things

"There's night and day, brother, both sweet things; sun, moon, and stars, brother, all sweet things: there's likewise a wind on the heath. Life is very sweet, brother; who would wish to die?" - George Henry Borrow


The moon is waxing toward full this week and I have been admiring it each night, taking pictures. I can't seem to help myself. I am a girl moon-obsessed. Moon through clouds. Moon through trees.

We had been planning a late-October vacation. A trip to the beach at Assateague, one of my very most favorite places in the whole wide world, to watch the full moon rise red over the ocean. The wild ponies running along the beach. Myself, enchanted, watching, living and loving every moment. (Oh yes, we've done this before. Friends, I'm not sure I can think of anything prettier in this world than a ruby-red moonrise over the ocean.)

But alas it is not to be. The weather folks are casting dire predictions of a storm of horrifying proportions coming up the east coast of the U.S., just at the time we would have gone. So we won't be going to the ocean after all.

So I will stand here in my front yard in central Pennsylvania, and I will watch this moon from this familiar place. It may not have been what I wished for but it is still beautiful. Still enchanting.

The sun and moon and stars, brother. Oh yes, they are ALL sweet things . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.