atoll

By atoll

My Goostrey Crown Revealed

Had another site meeting over in Swettenham this morning and so like last week at Jodrell Bank, I went on a meandering lazy route home, this time through the lovely village of Goostrey.

I called in to do a couple of things: first-off, was to relocate the grave of my grandfather Reg, whose ashes were laid with his parents in the churchyard opposite St Lukes Church, and which I found; and next was to have another nosey at the second pub my Great-Grandfather Davies Worth was landlord of, called The Crown. I knew the first one was the Old Rock at Barton-on-Irwell that I blipped about a few days back.

On checking the gravestone dates, and then my family tree on the 'Genes-Reunited' web, I realised my time clock was wrong: This Davies had died December 1940 aged 61, and so didn't run The Rock after the war as thought. I was getting confused (not difficult, I know).

Anyway, I checked on Google and found the history of something called the Goostrey Rose Festival, which revealed the: "....Rose Festival, in its present form, was started by a Miss Emily Cumberbirch and Miss Margaret Worth, the daughter of the landlord of the Crown Hotel". ahha!

My family tree revealed this Margaret was born 1896, but was daughter of another Davies Worth. So it seems my Great Great Grandfather was also the landlord of the Crown Inn, and maybe he passed it down before my Great Grandfather took The Rock.

Maybe this also explains where my taste in nice old pubs comes from?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.