Lucia

Lucia is the Romanian woman who begs for money at the door of the church where my mother goes to hear mass every day. 
While I am waiting for the mass to end, I usually talk to her about her life in Spain, her daughters, why she is begging and things like that.
Today she has been teaching me some words and expressions in Romanian. It is an easy language for a Spanish speaker,  I guess that 's why there are so many Romanian immigrants living in Spain.
I also asked her why Romanian women usually wear such long skirts. She says it is their custom and in her country most women wear long skirts too, but others wear jeans and trousers, as I was wearing today.
People help her with money, food or clothes, but she keeps complaining about how hard her life is.
She always looks worried.
This is my portrait for this week challenge

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.