Vodka Beetle - Zazdarovje!

One night back in February I was preparing to climb the Wooden Hill to Bedfordshire and went into the kitchen to wash up my Horlicks mug and found this small beetle crawling across the worktop. I took some photos of it but couldn't figure out what it was (nothing unusual there), so I consulted our Country Recorder and popped the specimen into the post to him. He's just been able to confirm that this is Attagenus smirnovi, rather prosaically known as the Brown Carpet Beetle, but more interestingly called the Vodka Beetle, a County first for VC55. No idea where it came from, haven't found any more since but in keeping with the times I can say that a Russian beetle has been expelled from my house (and I'm expecting reciprocal action from Moscow soon). Zazdarovje!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.